WyJo Care Program Information

WyJo Care is a community partnership to improve access to specialty health care for low-income, uninsured residents of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties. It combines care provided in primary care safety net clinics with donated specialty care in a coordinated referral program led by the Medical Society of Johnson and Wyandotte Counties. It is designed to enhance the work of existing safety net clinics and other community agencies.

WyJo Care is modeled on similar Project Access programs in other cities including Wichita, Topeka, Dallas and Columbus, Ohio.

Although many residents of Wyandotte and Johnson Counties have health insurance and reliable access to medical care, more than 63,000 do not. Often, those without health insurance are working hard in one or more low-wage jobs without health benefits, earning too much to qualify for government assistance programs like Medicaid or HealthWave, but not earning enough to afford health insurance and still meet other essential needs such as food, clothing, and housing.

Many physicians already care for low-income, uninsured patients; however there is limited access to specialist care through the Safety Net clinics. WyJo Care helps fill that need. WyJo Care demonstrates the commitment of physicians and other health care providers to patients and our community in a way that is organized, efficient, and properly recognized. It is an opportunity for physicians, hospitals, city and county government, and other community agencies to help existing low-income clinics and agencies provide needed care a way that is coordinated, efficient, and more effective than any single entity could provide alone.

Patient Eligibility:

Patients must meet the following criteria to qualify for specialty referral through WyJo Care:

  • Resident of Wyandotte or Johnson County for at least three months
  • Have no medical insurance
  • Not eligible for government medical assistance, such as Medicare, Medicaid, VA benefits, or KanCare
  • 18 years of age or older.
  • Below or at 200 percent of the Federal Poverty Level for total household income. For more information about the Federal Poverty Level, click here.
  • Referred by a primary care provider or safety net clinic


Click here

Request More Information

4 + 13 =